The teams driving to be the first eSC champions

06 May 2022

The 10 teams competing in the eSkootr Championship™ (eSC) are as diverse, dynamic and exciting as the 30 elite riders who make up the competition.

From Olympic champions to industry leaders, they each represent different aspects of this exciting new sport and while they share many common goals, they have their own driving ambition to make the eSC a phenomenon.

Team principals like F1 driver and Le Mans 24-Hour winner Nico Hulkenberg and champion cyclist Nico Roche are inspired by the progressive approach to micromobility adopted in their homelands and want to spread the message.

“I ride an electric scooter, so appreciate first-hand the benefits of micromobility and what needs to be done in the regulatory and education space,” said Roche. “I applaud the leadership stance taken by the government in my native Ireland and its understanding that, if properly managed, electric scooters can play a huge part in cleaning up congested cities.”

For Hulkenberg, the chance to race in the heart of the city is compelling and he is one of many teams championing the greater purpose of eSC to create cleaner, safer cities, as well as making racing more accessible for all. “Racing in urban cities is unique and will be a great stage to develop sustainable and a safe mobility.”

As both a successful athlete and an influencer,Fabio Wibmer is quick to grasp the eSC’s ground-breaking approach to engaging a new audience through innovative use of media and a world-class fan experience.

“I am passionate about creating engaging and compelling content that offers viewers something different and pushes boundaries,” says the Austrian freestyle mountain biker. “The racing is completely new and I’m excited to see the series evolve over the coming seasons. The eSC’s fan-first focus and forward-thinking plans for the viewing experience are why it’s so great to be part of this new sport.”

Accessibility for all to sport is another key reason for joining. As one of the most successful motor racing teams outside F1, Carlin bring a wealth of engineering and racing experience. Forteam boss Trevor Carlin, who has helped a who’s who of drivers to the grid – from four-time F1 World Champion Sebastian Vettel and two-time Indy 500 winner Takuma Sato to Daniel Ricciardo, Carlos Sainz Jr and Lando Norris – it’s all about the accessibility of the sport.

“We began to evaluate eSC’s potential – and we very quickly understood what opportunities it offered. What really appeals to usabout eSC is its affordability and accessibility. It really takes a new approach in terms of racing, technology and the overlap into real-life mobility.”

As entrepreneurs, racing driver Greg Murphy and world heavyweight champion boxer Anthony Joshua are in the business of helping the competition to grow. “I’m a fan and I’m looking forward to seeing the championship develop over time,” said Joshua. “I’m hoping to, where I can, add a little magic and help the team and championship develop its potential.”

And make no mistake, while every team has higher aims and ambitions from the eSC, all 10 are also determined to dominate both the Riders’ and Teams’ championships and walk away as the inaugural winners. Bring it on.

Find out more about the 10 teams racing for the inaugural